The Pulitzer Prize
The Pulitzer Prize is a United States award regarded as the highest honor in print journalism. The award also honors literary achievements and musical compositions. Recipients of the award are chosen by an independent board officially administered by the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism in the United States. The prize was established by Joseph Pulitzer, a Hungarian-American journalist and newspaper publisher in the late 19th century.
Louis Bromfield Columbia University, 1920 Fiction "Early Autumn"
Roger Ebert University of Illinois, 1964 Criticism in Film
Ray Stannard Baker Michigan State University, 1889 Biography of President Woodrow Wilson
William Stryon Davidson College, 1946 Fiction: "The Confessions of Nat Turner"
William Randolph Hearst Jr. U.C. Berkeley, 1929 Commentary
William Allen White University of Kansas, 1890 Editorial Writing
Byron Price Wabash College, 1912 Special Citation: "For the creation and administration of the newspaper and radio codes"
James A. Michener Swarthmore College, 1929 Fiction: "Tales of the South Pacific"
Talbot Faulkner Hamlin Amherst, 1910 Biography of Benjamin Henry Latrobe

United States Postage Stamp
To have your image placed on United States Postage Stamp is considered quite an honor. The U.S. Postal Service recognizes extraordinary individual and group achievements. Five Phis have been honored with U.S. Postage Stamps.
William Allen White University of Kansas 1890
Frank Lloyd Wright University of Wisconsin, 1888
Benjamin Harrison Miami University, 1850
Neil Armstrong Purdue University, 1955
Lou Gehrig Columbia University, 1925